Scranton Counseling Center is a private, nonprofit organization incorporated in 1947. It is an integrated Behavioral Healthcare Delivery System providing services to people of all ages. We endorse the following National Consensus Statement on Mental Health Recovery:

“Mental health recovery is a journey of healing and transformation enabling a person with a mental health problem to live a meaningful life in a community of his or her choice while striving to achieve his or her full potential.”

Board of Directors

Philip Condron

Board Chair

Michael Ruane


Karen Clifford


Gavin Cerco


Lauren Allen

Peter Curtain

Mara Gavin

Francis J. Merkel, CPA

Margaret McNulty

Lifetime Board Member

Atty. Richard Bishop

Lifetime Board Member

John Viola

Lifetime Board Member


Our Mission

The Center’s Mission is to promote wellness and recovery by providing an environment which is considerate of and sensitive to the unique, personal and cultural attributes of those we serve, and which empowers them to make choices about their lives, pursue their personal goals and maximize their quality of life while respecting their individual dignity and confidentiality.

Our Team

Sal Santoli, MS

Interim CEO
Mr. Santoli has over 4 decades of management experience with the Scranton Counseling Center. He is serving in the interim CEO position until the search committee identifies the next President and CEO.

Wendy Reed, LCSW

COO, Executive VP, Operations
Wendy is a licensed clinical social worker and has been working in community mental health for the past 32 years. She has been employed at SCC since 2014.

Jeff Novak, MBA

Chief Financial Officer

Jeff oversees and is responsible for all financial functions of the center. He reports to the CEO. Jeff has coordinated the renovation and construction of SCC’s new campus in South Scranton.

Denise Carey

Assistant VP of Operations
Denise has been with SCC since 2018